Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Apopka? Where is that? Why do a project there? What’s happening out there?

Apopka is north west of Orlando. A few years ago the powers to be approved an extension to Highway 429 which would connect the Florida Turnpike to Apopka and extend around Apopka to Lake Mary making a Beltway around the northern parts of Orlando. A complete circle. With this extension taking shape the construction boom around northern Apopka is staggering.

Homes are flying off the shelf like hot cakes. My sister bought a new construction. My mom and dad started searching for their retirement nest nearby. We looked at homes for two weeks straight, everyday. Every time we put an offer in, the house would go pending. Finally, we nailed one. They are very happy with their choice.

This got me thinking. Maybe I should take a closer look at distressed properties that I can bring back to old glory. Hence, the long search. It really was a touch and go, stroke of luck or miracle. Finally, I got my claws around a house in Pines of Wekiva subdivision.

IMG_0948

The house is a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom, bonus study or possible 5th bedroom, 3311 square feet, 2 story pool home on a corner lot. Does it need work? Oh yeah! There is a ton of work to make this shine again. This will be our biggest project thus far. But I am very optimistic and excited.

My realtor, Ryan Rogers of Keller Williams Classic worked tirelessly to show and guide me towards better opportunities. After we made a choice and finally won a bid on auction site Hubzu, his assistant Rachel Young-Holmes took over. Rachel worked diligent and timely with several communications back and forth to ensure a smooth transaction. I think Rachel graduated with a Masters in dealing with Hubzu. Her next Hubzu deal would be a breeze.

Time to breakout the tools and get to work. Follow my progress as I make this diamond shine again.

